Soak up every moment'-- 41 students inducted into National Junior Honor Society

Forty-one students were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society Tuesday evening at Hanover Central Middle School.

student lighting candle A National Junior Honor Society member lights the service candle during the candle lighting ceremony at the Induction ceremony.

President Emmi Doty welcomed everyone to the ceremony.

“This is a very special day for new members,” Doty said. “Learn to show leadership, do community service and be a leader. Above everything be a leader and treat others the way you want to be treated.”

boy at podium National Honor Society member Brett Driscoll addresses the new inductees during the ceremony. 

Current members of the NJHS  talked about character, citizenship, leadership, scholarship and service and lit candles. Guest speakers for the evening were
Brett Driscoll and Phoebe Tomac, members of the National Honor Society at Hanover Central High School. Driscoll is vice president and  Tomac is president of NHS.

Driscoll stressed to the new members to ‘continue to strive to fulfill your goals.”

four on stage

Principal Tom Martin shakes the hand of a new National Junior Honor Society inductee. 

Phoebe Tomac told the students to “be a part of something bigger than  yourself. Make those memories and soak up every moment.”

Principal Tom Martin congratulated the students and especially the parents. “Great kids don’t happen by accident so congratulations to all of you,” he said.


The  students  participated in the candle ceremony and  each one received a certificate and shook hands of Driscoll, Tomac, assistant principal Denise Cordrey, Principal Tom Martin, Assistant Superintendent Deborah Snedden and NJHS sponsor Neylan DeMoss.

41 students holding certificates

Pictured are the 41 new inductees into the National Junior Honor Society at Hanover 
Central Middle School. 

The new inductees are eighth graders Elizabeth Flores, Addison Jewett, Hannah Kieffer, Nikolai Petkov, Grace Rapacz, Rayna Rogers, Lyndsey Schneidner, Grace Schrum, Kaitlyn Thompson and Grace Wilson; seventh graders Avelina Arce, Jenna Brewer, Danielle brink, Landen Coduti, Leila Dostal, Jacob Drewno, Natalie Eckart, Luke Fleming, Aubrey Flood, Lillian Gardner, Shea Garringer, Olivia Hernandez,
Griffin Jakubowski, Francesca Kenyon, Alexandra Lecea, Michael Licina, Makenna Liming, Jerome Murphy, Shannon Nelson, Ashton Orr, Ava Perez, Mitchell Remaly, Daniela Rodrguez, Landon Sarkey, Cassidy Toole, Ava Vanderhye, Ashton Verbish, Annalie Vogel, Audrey Watson, Mellena Williams and Roha Zaidl.